the streets of lake worth

Ciao! I am little late recapping my weekend and welcoming another Monday to our lives…story of my life huh? So much has been going on lately with personal improvements and helping most of my friends with their weddings, bachelorette parties, baby showers, and whatever other party or shower you can think of! However, I do want to share with you some art I saw this past weekend in Lake Worth. I like to think of Lake Worth as Florida’s very own Austin. As in Austin, Texas… “Keep Austin Weird”, Austin. It is a liberal little city that celebrates art, culture, and tattoos with thrift shops and cafes lining the streets. Lake Worth hosted a street painting event with the theme of movies. They divide the streets into a couple of squares, of varying sizes, that people then purchase to draw whatever their heart’s desire – as long as it’s a movie- through chalk. Think of it like buying add space in the newspaper.

Here are some of my favorites. They really inspired me in some of my own artwork!

Image

the before I die wall… love the colors

???????????????????????????????

my lake worth host, Kurt

???????????????????????????????

Image

Image

???????????????????????????????

when I grow up, I want to be like this lady

Image

this is how i would actually look if I did this.. covered in chalk!

ImageImage

Image

Lorde

Image

???????????????????????????????

Image

???????????????????????????????

Image

Image

???????????????????????????????

 

Who know chalk could be used in so many ways! I think each artist had their own technique and just went for it. This event was great because you could be apart of the creating experience. You can feel the energy of the artists and really watch the process.

Have a great Wednesday!

Xj

 

2 Comments on “the streets of lake worth

Leave a Reply

