holiday bake-a-thon

This weekend I decided to make holiday cookie baskets for some of the people that work in my building. I wanted to do something special because they definitely go the extra mile to make it feel like home. It was a week long process to find the right collection of cookie recipes because I didn’t want to just settle for sugar cookies and sprinkles. I tried to mix holiday themed flavors with classic favorites. Here are the winners: chocolate dipped biscoff pillow cookies, soft baked peanut butter cookies, caramel loaded fudge brownie cookies, soft gingerbread cookies, white chocolate peppermint cookies, and butter balls. I’m exhausted just typing them all out!

Image

my mom was the taste testers and photographer for the day!

Most of the recipes needed to be chilled for a few hours, so there was a lot of prep work involved. I found it very helpful to just saran wrap each dough and write what time I placed it in the fridge and for how long it has to chill for with a permanent marker.

Image

Now for the cookies!

Butter Balls

Image

ImageLove this Italian classic.. make sure you don’t forget to roll them in sugar once out of the oven AND once cooled- the dough lacks sugar so you def want to make sure you coat them well!

Soft Gingerbread Cookies

Image

ImageThese are the best! I was hesitant to add the crystallized ginger in fear of making them too strong but it really kicks it up just enough to make a delicious cookie.

Soft Baked Peanut Butter Cookies

Image

ImageThe recipe calls for peanuts, peanut butter cups, AND peanut butter chips- I modified it with just a bunch of  chopped peanut butter cups- why mess with the best?

White Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

ImageThe recipe asks for white chocolate peppermint M&M’s and I could not find them! I opted for the holiday Hersey Kisses that are peppermint flavored with candy cane pieces in the middle. The combination of ginger and chocolate was great!

Caramel Loaded Fudge Brownie Cookies

Image

Again I went with less is more, I just chopped up some Kraft Caramel candy pieces and added them to the batter. I didn’t want to overkill it with the Rolos and I am happy with the result. These are gooey and really rich!

Chocolate Dipped Biscoff Pillow Cookies

ImageAfter baking, let them cool and dip them in the chocolate

Image

Of course, I went wit the classic gold sprinkles. How chic are these cookies?

Image The aftermath…

If I am going to give cookies as a present, we are going to do it right. It’s all about presentation!

Image

I scored some awesome containers at the dollar store!

Image

I got some faux holly, ribbon, and bows to jazz up my container. I can’t wait to give them out!

Image 

and me? I’ll just be right here, eating all my left over candy…

Happy baking!!

3 Comments on “holiday bake-a-thon

  1. I can’t believe you are such a baker! I have gotten into baking too. I will send you recipes as I try them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

