mid century band wagon

I never thought I would say it, but here I go..

I, Jenna Conte, am loving these mid-century modern interiors. Over the years, my style has been more shabby chic/vintage/eclectic. I love soft textures, lots of color, and surrounding myself with items that remind me of my travels, family, and friends. Those characteristics are still apart of me but now I am feeling the urge to “grow up” and clean up my style a bit. I am all about a clean white wall with colorful artwork and accessories, mixed with antique and contemporary pieces, and faux fur throws… do you see it? Think white, metal, and wood – with a dash of pink, all mixed together in perfect harmony!

Mid Century Modern has always been a classic style, but this movement has been making a come back, in a BIG way, for the past couple years. With its growing popularity, the timeless pieces are now being reproduced and easily accessible to the public, unlike before when they were only available at (not so) Design Within Reach. Which means…. I can buy some new pieces! Here are my favorites:

1. The Eames Molded Plastic Side Chair & Rocker – Charles and Ray Eames 

Image

They come in a variety of colors and bases!  Who doesn’t love a cute rocking chair??

Image

With the white walls, these chairs just add the necessary punch of color to bring the space to life

2.  Bertoia Diamond Chair – Henry Bertoia 

berotia chair

Notice the fur throw..

bertoia barstools

These bar stool are next on my list! I love metal mesh look. It substantial without being heavy. Ugh, can-not-wait.

3. Cherner Arm Chair – Norman Cherner 

cherner side chairBent wood was a common theme in Mid Century Modern pieces – think Eames Lounge chair. These chairs are make a statement with the sculptural arms and whimsical design.

The scale is also great!

4. Wassily Chair – Marcel Breuer 

Wassily-Chair-00

The chair is so clean and simple, it is  known as being the first chair to use tubular steel . Again, a faux fur throw would be perfect on this – just saying..

Marcel Breuer Wassily Chair(Model B3 chair)

Love the juxtaposition of the contemporary furniture with the classical architectural details. Just my style!

5. Risom Lounge Chair – Jens Risom

jens-risom-chair-dwrThe mixture of textures create interest and depth to any space

risom lounge chai

06_amelia-handegan-south-carolina-beach-bungalow_lgThis look is so refreshing and cozy, adding pillows to classic chair invites guest to really enjoy the space.

What do you think? Has this sparked an interest in the Mid Century movement?  If you have any free time, I encourage you to research the history behind these iconic furniture pieces.. it’s quite interesting!

Leave a Reply

