no work weekend {i wish}

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and snagged some deals on Black Friday! Now that the official weekend has commenced, its time to start gearing up for the work week ahead. I was pretty lucky to have had Thursday and Friday off and really have no excuse not to check some things off my to-do list on a gloomy Saturday afternoon. I will admit, I can be quite the procrastinator, but who wants to be motivated on a holiday! If you are like me and can find inspiration anywhere for anything, here is it! These are a few tricks I play to get myself in gear. Now get $#!? done!

1. For around the house..

Do the things that need to be done as they present themselves. If you need to fold those towels laying to the side, fold them now, put away the clothes when they are out of the dryer, wash the dishes when you put them in the sink, put away your shoes when you take them off.. get the idea? It can be hard to start- trust me, I am still working on it, but it’s worth it when you don’t have to do those things later!

2. For homework..

Put yourself on a social media lock down! I usually put my phone in another room, on silent and then designate breaks to when I can use it. I know we are all glued to our iPhones, but you will notice the difference when you are finished an hour early because you weren’t flipping though an ex’s recently added holiday photos.

Also, try making your work space a place you love to be in. I recently reworked my desk and I look forward to spending time there everyday. How can someone feel motivated in an dull,  uninspiring space? Motivational quotes also work!

Image

3. For life’s craziness..

Lists, lists and more lists! Write everything down! All too often we forget what we have to do and where we have to be, which means we will probably waste a good amount of time organizing our tasks. When I write things down I focus more on a specific job and check it off sooner. Lists also allow us to prioritize. Getting all the important things done first will reduce the amount of stress we have in our lives while allowing us to attend to those small tasks we all too often forget.  Win- win, no?

-Plus lists mean we have an excuse to buy a plethora of notepads and journals. I just might be a pack rat when it comes to notebooks. I scored a bunch at the dollar section of Target recently! Check out the gold theme pens and pencils, as well..

Image

I hope these help! How do you get yourself motivated?

2 Comments on “no work weekend {i wish}

Leave a Reply

